The Announcement

Griot Enterprises is proud to announce its partnership with Cedar Grove Books, a publisher of Children and Young Adult, Science Fiction/Fantasy and Mystery books.

The Horsemen: Divine Intervention
The Horsemen: Divine Intervention

Since 2000, Griot Enterprises has existed for one reason: to tell great stories featuring heroes of color. We have seen many great African American superheroes in comics, but we never saw an iconic African American superhero team. We didn’t have our Justice League, our Avengers. We, as comic book fans of color, young and old, didn’t have a universe where our heroes reside…

Griot Enterprises fills that void.

Rochon Perry, an AFTRA award winning professional who has been involved in publishing and comics for many years, owns Cedar Grove Books. She has served on the Board of the Cartoon Art Museum in San Francisco and curated two exhibits while there; worked with several comic book companies, been an Eisner Award judge and is an Associate Director with the Institute for Comics Studies.

The Horsemen: The Book of Olorun
The Horsemen: The Book of Olorun

Griot Enterprises, owned and operated by Jiba Molei Anderson, artist, writer, educator and creator of The Horsemen, will become an imprint of Cedar Grove, and focus on original graphic novels and art books. In addition, Mr. Anderson will serve as Cedar Grove’s Creative Director.

The Horsemen: Mark of the Cloven
The Horsemen: Mark of the Cloven

One of the projects slated for release from Cedar Grove/Griot Enterprises in 2015 will be Lumumba Funk. Here’s the list of contributors for the project:

Jude W. Mire, Dion Floyd, La Morris Richmond, Pamela Thomas, Hannibal Tabu, Damon Alums, Daimon Gonzales, Stanford Carpenter, Brandon Easton, Brandon Thomas. Tali Edut, Ophira Edut, Diane Perry, Joe Robinson Currie, Balogun Ojetade, Damian Duffy, Bill McCormick, Christian Beranek, Nigel Flood, Walter Greason and Brian Mark Williams.

Jason Reeves, Sheeba Maya, Shawn Alleyne, John Jennings, Ashley Woods, Glyph Sputnik, Nic Feutz, Kenjji Jumanne-Marshall, Buzz Da Artist, Rachel Torres, Daniel Chon, Ryan Benjamin, Brian Colding, Arvell Jones, Ryan Anderson, Mshindo Kuumba, Stanley Weaver, Jared Bymers, Kimberly Moseberry, Ken Lashley, Matthew Minor, Tyrus Goshay, Pat Loboyoko, Richard E. Dominguez, Juan Arevalo and Kofi Boone


So, what does this all mean?

Welcome to the evolution.

2 thoughts on “The Announcement”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s