Battle Marketing: Educational Interlude

Manifesto: The Tao of Jiba Molei Anderson
Manifesto: The Tao of Jiba Molei Anderson

Being a mentor is a major part of my career.

I was lucky enough to have an indirect “mentorship” with Denys Cowan at Milestone in the very beginning of my career. I met him at my very first con (as a hopeful). He broke some things down to me because he saw that I was serious about getting into the business.

Spread from Manifesto: The Tao of Jiba Molei Anderson
Spread from Manifesto: The Tao of Jiba Molei Anderson

I learned from all of my favorite artists and writers meeting them at cons, getting more information and building my toolbox of skills and contacts. I supplemented that education by reading books on not only the subject of creating comics, but the business of comics as well.

I put all of that together to create my company, Griot Enterprises, and my property The Horsemen… And, I was floored that when I had the pleasure of meeting Dwayne McDuffie in 2005, he was a fan of The Horsemen and became another “mentor” of mine until his transition.

Spread from Manifesto: The Tao of Jiba Molei Anderson
Spread from Manifesto: The Tao of Jiba Molei Anderson

What does this mean to you? At the end of the day, you must seek out your own mentors. They are not going to come to you. That ain’t how education works… Period. Every one of us who had the desire to get into this and truly understand how this the business works, went out and found our teachers.

If people need more and want to get into an artist’s head, I’ve put my experiences, thought process in creating comics, illustration, design and writing into a book called Manifesto: The Tao of Jiba Molei Anderson, which you can cop here:

Spread from Manifesto: The Tao of Jiba Molei Anderson
Spread from Manifesto: The Tao of Jiba Molei Anderson

We… Are… Right… Here… And, we are willing to mentor those who have the drive and desire to be masters of their own fate…

And, I’m always willing to take on new padawans… As long as they are serious about the craft.

http://www.griotenterprises.com

2 thoughts on “Battle Marketing: Educational Interlude”

Leave a Reply

